Login to forums:

Forgot your password?

Forgot your username?

User Tag List

Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: New Alternator and Battery and still loses power.

  1. #1
    The Captain StrokedZ28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Lockport
    Posts
    3,156
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default New Alternator and Battery and still loses power.

    My wifes car which is a 2000 mitsubuishi mirage loses power and dies. I went and had the alternator tested and it was bad.

    I have since replaced it and put in a new battery at the same time. We drove the car yesterday and today and now it has no power.

    What would cause this. I checked the connections and they all seemed fine.
    We stand here at the crossroads of oblivion...shall we let our fears guide us or our reason?

  2. #2
    GIMME DA COOKIES JayS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Williamsville
    Posts
    25,135
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    So the battery died while the car was sitting? If you jump it I assume it's charging?

    If so, I'd say you have an open circuit somewhere that's drawing power all the time. And it will suck to find it. You can start with a good volt meter, hook it up to the battery, and have someone watch it while you pull one fuse at a time. If you see it change, and the fuse you pulled isn't something that should be on all the time, you just found the circuit where your voltage leak is.

  3. #3
    The Captain StrokedZ28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Lockport
    Posts
    3,156
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JayS
    So the battery died while the car was sitting? If you jump it I assume it's charging?

    If so, I'd say you have an open circuit somewhere that's drawing power all the time. And it will suck to find it. You can start with a good volt meter, hook it up to the battery, and have someone watch it while you pull one fuse at a time. If you see it change, and the fuse you pulled isn't something that should be on all the time, you just found the circuit where your voltage leak is.
    What do I do to fix it then.
    We stand here at the crossroads of oblivion...shall we let our fears guide us or our reason?

  4. #4
    The Captain StrokedZ28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Lockport
    Posts
    3,156
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The car does have a remote starter in it.
    We stand here at the crossroads of oblivion...shall we let our fears guide us or our reason?

  5. #5
    Celldwelling RuBiCaNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    9,813
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Moved to the Help Forum.

  6. #6
    GIMME DA COOKIES JayS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Williamsville
    Posts
    25,135
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Who installed the remote starter?

    Fixing voltage leaks is a royal PITA. First you have to find the circuit that is causing the problem, and assuming it isn't a faulty device on that circuit (like a bad radio, trunk light staying on etc), you have to start tracing wire by wire until you find the problem.

    Before you go through all that, make sure that's really the problem. Charge the battery up, hook it up to the car, and take a voltage reading. It should be 12 or very close to it. Then start the car and take another reading. The reading with the car running should be higher, something near 13 volts to indicate the system is charging.

    Assuming that all checks out, check the battery voltage with the car off, remove the battery cable, and see if you get a big change. If you do something is drawing current while the car is sitting, and you've got a lot of fun trying to track down what.

  7. #7
    The Captain StrokedZ28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Lockport
    Posts
    3,156
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The remote starter was installed by Best Buy.

    Ok I have a voltmeter, but I'm not exactly sure how to use it.

    There are 7 settings this thing can be set to, to test the battery which one should I use and what symbol is it?
    There is:
    1) V with a ~ on top of it
    2) V with a ___ and --- on top of it
    3) 300 mV with ____ and ---- on top of it
    4) an omega sign
    5) an ->+ )))) symbol
    6) an A with a ~ on top
    7) an A with an ____ and --- on top of it

    Which one?
    We stand here at the crossroads of oblivion...shall we let our fears guide us or our reason?

  8. #8
    Lifetime User
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Wheatfield,NY
    Posts
    9,625
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    the alternator hae a fudeable link. maybe the alt fuse isblown and not charging the battery

  9. #9
    The Captain StrokedZ28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Lockport
    Posts
    3,156
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Where would the alternators fuesable link be located?
    We stand here at the crossroads of oblivion...shall we let our fears guide us or our reason?

  10. #10
    The Captain StrokedZ28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Lockport
    Posts
    3,156
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    What should the voltage be for the battery when the car is running?
    We stand here at the crossroads of oblivion...shall we let our fears guide us or our reason?

  11. #11
    It's Hammer Time! AKA-FERRARI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    In Scottsdale...watching fake Boobies.
    Posts
    2,230
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    battery has dead cell......

  12. #12
    The Captain StrokedZ28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Lockport
    Posts
    3,156
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AKA-FERRARI
    battery has dead cell......
    I just replaced it friday, when it died I had it replaced again with a new one.

    The alternator I had tested and it runs fine.

    What would keep the alternator from charging the battery if the battery is new and the alternator is new.
    We stand here at the crossroads of oblivion...shall we let our fears guide us or our reason?

  13. #13
    I like to row boats! Adictd2b00st's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    WS
    Posts
    10,495
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by StrokedZ28
    What should the voltage be for the battery when the car is running?
    like 14.1 or somthing like that generally

  14. #14
    The Captain StrokedZ28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Lockport
    Posts
    3,156
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Well I hope i fixed the problem. A tiny blue wire behind the battery was snapped. I traced the wire in both directions, one side led to the fuse box above the battery the other side led to the alternator clip.

    Right next to it was a thicker red wire which I'm guessing was a hot wire. So the blue i assumed was a ground.

    When it was connected again the voltage at the battery went from a little over 12v with the car off to a litte under 14v with the car on. That did not happen befor so I'm guessing it worked.

    I want to thank everyone who helpped me out.........except for Jay, you suck Jay
    We stand here at the crossroads of oblivion...shall we let our fears guide us or our reason?

  15. #15
    GIMME DA COOKIES JayS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Williamsville
    Posts
    25,135
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hey, all along I said "assuming the alternator is working"

    I even explained how to check. lol

    But I wasn't sure what setting to put your voltmeter on, and if I guessed wrong your voltmeter goes "pop" and it's done.

    My guess is that will take care of it. That blue wire probably was the fusable link. When the last battery went it started working the alternator real hard, and could have blown that fusible link. All speculation, but it sounds good.

  16. #16
    The Captain StrokedZ28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Lockport
    Posts
    3,156
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JayS
    Hey, all along I said "assuming the alternator is working"

    I even explained how to check. lol

    But I wasn't sure what setting to put your voltmeter on, and if I guessed wrong your voltmeter goes "pop" and it's done.

    My guess is that will take care of it. That blue wire probably was the fusable link. When the last battery went it started working the alternator real hard, and could have blown that fusible link. All speculation, but it sounds good.

    Hahaha......I didn't mean you suck.

    I was talking about addicted, his name is Jay.
    We stand here at the crossroads of oblivion...shall we let our fears guide us or our reason?

  17. #17
    I like to row boats! Adictd2b00st's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    WS
    Posts
    10,495
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    glad u figured it out tom

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •